The Lib Dem 2021 Local Elections Team

May 6th 2021

This May 6th, Liberal Democrats will be standing candidates in Essex County Council elections as well as in two by-elections for Uttlesford District Council.

Introducing your Essex County Council Candidates

Our local communities need a strong local voice at Essex County Council. Having neglected town and rural services for years, the Conservatives are now intent on cutting a further £46 million from the budget.Our stretched local public services, like the libraries, mental health and youth services are going to be under threat again. Liberal Democrats are the main opposition to Conservatives at Essex County Council. We are best placed to work Essex-wide to make real progress:

  • Getting action on road safety and maintenance;
  • Demanding more local action to protect our environment and to fight climate change; and
  • Protecting our local public services from further Conservative Cuts

We are running candidates in each of the four county divisions that make up Uttlesford:

Aub Khan

Ayub Khan

Stansted Division

Ayub lives in Stansted; he is a successful local campaigner as a District councillor for Stansted South and Birchanger and a Stansted Mountfitchet Parish Councillor. He is a Charity Chief Executive delivering public advice services. He has worked in senior roles within education and training as well as Local Government. He is a Trustee of a care home and vice chair at a sixth form college.

Simon Ede

Simon Ede

Saffron Walden Division

Simon, has lived with his wife and children in Saffron Walden since 2008. He is passionate about helping individuals and communities make the transition to net-zero carbon future. As an avid runner and walker, most at home on our beautiful local network of footpaths, environmental protection is top of his agenda. Simon is also a trustee of a local charity that provides youth outreach services in Saffron Walden and has a keen insight into the financial pressures faced by our local public services.

Richard Silcock

Richard Silcock

Thaxted Division

Richard lives in Felsted where he has run the Village Shop and Post Office for over 20 years. He has insight into everyday life in our rural community and he knows first-hand how poor investment in our roads and infrastructure affects us all. Richard is a Felsted Parish Councillor and is also a governor at Felsted Primary School.

Lori Flawn

Lorraine Flawn

Dunmow Division
Lorraine has called Takeley home for over 35 years and her son attended local schools where Lori supported the parent teacher organisations. After a long career inLondon as a regulatory expert she is now semi-retired. As a result she has the time knowledge and experience to use the local government systems to deliver results for our county, As well as the ability to develop successful strategies. Lorraine now enjoys teaching people to drive and is thus knows and travels the district of Uttlesford regularly. Having helped to develop and co-ordinate the early 'Computing for schools' programme across london primary schools, as well as delivering the programme into some of our local schools, Lori is keen to ensure our education and care services are fit for our times. Further that they are delivered in as widely accessible a way possible. She has a special interest in climate change and is a firm believer that small, well targeted changes, can make a big difference.

Introducing you Uttlesford District Council By-Election Candidates

Liberal Democrats are the main opposition on Uttlesford District Council to the ruling R4U group. We are fighting the flood of speculative housing developments in our communities that has resulted from aggressive Conservative government housing targets and the failure of Uttlesford District Council to agree a local plan. Liberal Democats have, in recent years, led on issues relating to local policing and were at the heart of the Uttlesford decision to declare a climate emergency. We are now pushing hard to turn those words into meaningful local action. Working cross-party, Lib Dems are also holding R4U to account on its previous promises to run an open, transparent and well governed administration.
Thomas Smith


Newport Ward

Maryanne Fleming


The Sampfords Ward